New member - story of my T100D

Reaction score
Hello all,

Great forum - my thanks to those administrating it.

I have a 1966 Hoboken T100D sunburst. I mostly play blues and eccentric rock music on an amateur basis. My day job is researching the physics and engineering properties of polymeric materials.

I bought the guitar at a pawnshop in Cambridge Mass back in 1982 - I was 17 and was leaning toward the purchase of a crappy Aria strat copy when the grizzled old dude behind the counter gently let me know he thought the Guild was a nicer guitar. He then sold it to me for $250 ($25 less than the strat clone).

This was my first electric guitar and is still my favorite. It plays, sounds and looks great. I also have a '76 strat and a nice '79 ibanez AR50, but the Guild sounds and feels the best by far. I really like the kinda narrow but flat frets and the warm sound of the pickups especially the neck position - more powerful and browner sounding than my strat, and less powerful but sweeter than the AR50. Also it balances well and is lightweight but quite ruggedly constructed.