High fret at body and pole height adjustment question

LQGuitarist

Reaction score
I'm new to the forum and am an old guy who has been playing for most of my life. I love blues and am particular to fingerstyle. I picked up a '97 Bluesbird in Black with Schaller SH-1's for what I still feel is a great price of $700.00. The guitar was rarely played and the owner had two - the one he wanted to keep was a custom Cherry Red stained BB with special Electronics. I've had it for about three years, but it did not come alive for me until I found a 94 Fender Blues Deluxe last December that I purchased from a guy in Tennesee over Ebay. It is a great combination.
My Bluesbird has a low serial number that I tracked back to 1997 ( CL0000420).

I've been very happy with the guitar but I never took the time to do a proper setup on it. I'm a structural engineer by professiona and in private practice so for the last few years I've had little time to really play. When I gave my grandson one of my old Japanese Strats last summer, I got the bug to start playing again and when I bought my tube amp, the desire took over as it had for most of my life before I was so caught up in working. Now at 56 years old, I'm starting to put my priorities straight and playing has become important to my personal balance.

I wasn't sure if I could mention other guitars I own so I'll go on to the questions I have about the setup on my BB. I've noticed that there is either a high fret or not enough relief in the neck since the strings mute or buzz on the fret that meets the body. The buzz starts when I'm play at or above the 12th fret and I have a tendency for a light tough (mostly fingerstyle or Chicago Blues).