Just scored a Bluesbird - my first ebay buy

Reaction score
Newbie here - hello! I'm pretty excited about a Bluesbird I recently bought off ebay. Sorry - don't know how to post links but it was item 7421210912.

Anyway, I've had a couple of Bluesbirds before - one quite similar to this one and one a more recent Bluesbird90 which just didn't do it for me. This one however is a beauty! I think it used to belong to someone on these boards. It's a good weight - not too heavy. I replaced the bridge and tailpiece just so I could make it look as new as possible and also to try the Gotoh aluminium tailpiece. I don't think it makes a huge difference but it sure doesn't hurt. I also found some Guild see-thru knobs for it on ebay so now it looks great.

I'm a bit of an amp whore - I build them as a hobby. So I've been playing this guitar through some Marshall-esque 2x12 combos and some tweed style combos also. But it really comes to life through a Badcat Wildcat through a 2x12. Some of the most beautiful HB tones I have ever heard. It can do the "Les Paul thru plexi Marshall" thing better than my '57 Historic LP which I am selling now! But it can do so much more.

It joins my '99ish Starfire III as two of the best guitars I have ever owned. Let's not let too many guys know how good there things are, huh? Why these guitars don't get more kudos I will never know. This BB is better finished than any Gibson I have ever seen and sounds like I always wanted a Gibson to.

Sorry for the long rant but I just had to vent. No-one else understands!

Benee Wafers

Reaction score
Hi again JR. You're in the right place. People here do understand and more than that they KNOW.
Congrats on the BB
Benee Wafers

LQGuitarist

Reaction score
Hi!