Pickguard on Bluesbird and Finger Stylists

LQGuitarist

Reaction score
Some of you may have read my exploits setting up a 97 Bluesbird and then adding (by modification) a Les Paul pick guard. I installed it tonight and plugged in. It was an amazingly different feel - not quite accoustic, but much easier when playing Chicago Blues. I don't generally finger pick with electric blues unless I'm trying to do an alternating bass rhythm backup to any of the music I listen to. There are not a lot of players in my area and especially in my age bracket and I am a bit shy (56 years old). I started playing Delta Blues many years ago on my Martin but loved to listen and attempt playing Chet Atkins and Marcel Dadi styles. I broke a lot of finger nails on a Japanese strat I was fond of, but felt pretty comfortable playing on my Bluesbird which I bought with the pick guard unattached.
I finally installed it so that the top of the pick guard is level with the pickup (SH-1's) mounting rings and I'm finding the comfort level extrodinary. The strings are still lower than an accoustic, but I feel free to "float" (for lack of a better word) over the strings without nicking my nails on the pickup.

I was wondering how many finger stylists are out there and if you have found the same experience or comfort level with he pick guard in place. I don't think I can go back as it also improved the attack when using either a thumb pick or flat pack.

I am not a world class professional - but I am constantly learning and can feel my way through some interesting Chicago Blues. I think the tone and ease of playing inspires me about 50% while the music I'm working with brings me the rest of the way. I still step over everyone else, but hey! I play alone and on my own so who cares - the goal is for me to learn to improvise around the meloday or as augmentation to what others are doing.