GUILD X-170N WITH BIGSBY QUESTION

LEFTY

Reaction score
I am a newbie to this forum, because I just bought my first Guild guitar, a X-170N (lefty) with a bigsby. I have not yet received it, but I have a question. Does anybody have problems with the wooden bridge and Bigsby causing the guitar to detune?
What lubricant do you recommend (if any)?
My other hollowbody electric is a 1971 Gretsch Country Gentleman (bought new) and I changed the bridge to a floating Gibson tune-a-matic.
I am a subtle Bigsby user anyway.
Advice will be appreciated.
Lefty

Squawk

Reaction score
Welcome, Lefty.

Sounds like the original owner of the X170 added the Bigsby as they came with a rosewood bridge - which is not what I would recommend for a Bigsby. My Starfire III has an aluminum bridge and is excellent - you might find one on ebay, or e-mail our forum moderator (dklsplace) and/or forum guru Hans Moust - both of whom can supply you with a better bridge than you're using.

Out of interest - what did your Country Gentleman come with? I have a mid-60s Gretsch double annie - no Bigsby, but it has the famous Gretsch roller bridge which works great with a Bigsby. Mine is a pre-Baldwin - not sure of yours - but would be interested why you replaced the original bridge.

LEFTY

Reaction score
I am really not sure about the bridge on the X-170, as I have not recieved it yet. I know the bridge base is wood, but the actual bridge may be another material. I have seen other guitars like this online, and believe it is factory (maybe with options). Probably special order being a lefty.
Guild does a really nice job on there Lefties.
The Gretsch is a 71, and the original bridge was just round with grooves, and not individual string adjustments. I changed it to help the intonation, which it did. Mine does not have the string mutes on it. Still a really fine and unique sounding guitar. It sounds best through my 1957 Fender pro, with a little echo. Hopefully I will have the guild in about a week.