X50 Compared to Gibson (gasp!) ES125

chetmz

Reaction score
I am looking for an old (smaller) archtop and was considering an X-50. I don't see too many of these but there are certainly a lot of ES125's around. Anyone played them both?

Also, is there much difference in sound between the original plastic covered single coil pick-ups in the X-50 and the later metal covered ones?

Finally, am I correct, that the 125 is a bit deeper than the X-50 but the scale length is the same (24 3/4)?

By the way, I bought Hans' book and as everyone has said, it is a great guide for this sort of information. Those gorgeous pictures make you want to go out and get one of each!!

guildzilla

Reaction score
I'm not an expert on either and I've never played an X-50.

But I'm a fan of the ES-125 because they tend to be terrific players. Fewer frills but all the essentials of higher priced Gibson models, ES-150, ES-175, etc.

Also, as per similarity with the X-50, the comparison depends somewhat on the type of body on the Gibson. The original ES-125 is a full-depth archtop, whereas the ES-125 T is a thinner body.

john_kidder

Reaction score
Can't speak ti the Gibson, or to pickup differences, but I can tell you that the X-50 is very nifty little guitar. I had and sold a '56 a while ago - my more accomplished swing/jazz player friends were extremely disappointed when it left. I actually thought they liked ME a little, but it turned out that the X-50 was really the attraction.

24 3/4" scale, fast neck, very comfortable body, and the Franz pickup on mine gave it a great sound. I loved it.

Reaction score