New Member/How I started playing Guilds

BreederCreature

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I have been looking for a place to learn more about Guilds, yet somehow have never come across these forums! But now I have and here I am!

So anyway, this is an abridged version of how I began playing Guilds and guitar in general:

While in middle school, my friend started a jazz cover band with the other band kids (I only played trumpet at this point and enjoyed it very little, so I switched to playing the euphonium. Despite it's cool name, it was not much more enjoyable.) Flash-forward a few months later and now my friend now wants to start a traditional rock band.
At this point I had shown interest in learning to play guitar (due to being jealous of my friend’s cool new band) and my mom ended up mentioning it at her place of work. Her boss let me borrow one of his guitars since it was just sitting in his basement. It was originally purchased (I think in the 80s) as a cheap replacement guitar when his expensive guitar was stolen from his apartment. I start taking lessons, and then a few months later stop taking lessons. My mom didn’t see the point in paying for them if I never practiced or even played the guitar. When she came to get the guitar from my room and return it, I was sitting on my floor playing it. A few months later I join my friend’s band as the 2nd rhythm guitarist (not a very demanding position).

That’s it! So it turns out my first guitar was a ’78 Guild S-300D! I played this guitar as my main guitar for 7 years then bought a modified ’79 S-70, which has been my main guy for a year. They’re both great :D

-Adam

krysh

Guildarist in the mod squad
Reaction score
Guild Total
nice story adam,

welcome aboard from abroad.
here you won't get bored so show us your stringed broad.
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

capnjuan

Gone But Not Forgotten
Gone But Not Forgotten
Reaction score
Hi Adam and welcome; thanks for sharing - browse, post, enjoy! cj

BreederCreature