Hi I'm new here and recapping rt66's Thunderbird II

Reaction score
Great stuff here! I'm doing the recap on rt66's T-bird II amp and I'm taking a few pictures wihile I'm at it. I'll give the pictures to rt when I'm done and ask him to post 'em. It is a killer sounding amp as a lot of you know! I'm an old Fender amp cloner/tweaker who is not that easily impressed ( I've been a luthier, keyboard and amp tech full time on and off since 1968 so I've played through a lot of different amps I've been working on over the years ) but that bird really turns my crank. I've already got the two schems that capnjuan was kind enough to forward to rt66 but this one has notable differences.

If any of you have the schematic for this one I'd be willing to trade something for it. I've got alot of cool crap in my junkbox! This model has the FET controlled speed switch on the back panel and an extra tube in the preamp chassis that looks like it's in the reverb circuit (12ax7a) with the 6gw8. At least it's on the same pwb. It also sports a few smaller electrolytics probably for the fet supply ( one appears to be in the hum balance circuit on the preamp filaments) in the vibrato.

I made fiberglass boards for the larger recap caps and mounted them with long standoff screws in existing holes where possible. I found some nice CDE USA made 105 degree electrolytics and upped the values slightly for a little better low end. The amp sounds great and although the recap was a bit of hassel, it's nice to know this one will kicking the jams for quite a while longer.

I've got to go wind some pickups now;
thanks for the site, the pictures and the help

gb

capnjuan

Gone But Not Forgotten
Gone But Not Forgotten
Reaction score