Advice on best bass for new player

Stevo

Reaction score
Hi, I've been playing guitar for a few years but I'd like to try my hand at bass. I know very little about bass guitars except that some players have a preference for scale length. I play mostly blues and classic rock and would like advice on which vintage Guilds to look out for.

Thanks

krysh

Guildarist in the mod squad
Reaction score
Guild Total
hey stevo,
get a used guild pilot 602. around 300 $ on the bay, available with 2 jazzbass pickups or one jazzbass and one precision pickup. great playability, easy neck, 34" scale. full color body are poplar, burst or natural are maple.
a real professional bass as a best bargain for the money.

mellowgerman

Reaction score
pilots are really nice, but if you can afford it, I would recommend a starfire:)
there's a nice '67 model on ebay right now

fronobulax

Bassist, GAD and the Hot Mess Mods
Reaction score
Guild Total
The Guilds of Grot said:
Oh boy, here we go again!

You need to read these threads before we discuss it all again.

http://letstalkguild.com/phpBB2/viewtop ... ilit=pilot

http://letstalkguild.com/phpBB2/viewtop ... lot#p99777

+1

But the short answer is that if it has to have Guild on the headstock, the Pilot seems to be the most reasonable choice, especially in terms of cost and availability.

A lot of folks who switch between bass and guitar or have small hands like the neck profile and the short scale of the Starfire. Here's our very own Jahn playing a Starfire bass much like a guitar, IMO.

Stevo

Reaction score
Thanks for the great advice and links to old threads. I think I will be on the lookout for a Pilot as I don't want to be spending too much.

Happy New Year!

Steve

Squawk

Reaction score