Thoughts on a Guild B4E?

Jeff_L

Platinum Supporting
Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been thinking about learning to play a bass lately. Saturday night I went to a concert where one of the girls was playing a Dean acoustic bass (through a board) and that pushed me over the edge, so I started looking for one.

I've come across a Guild B4E for what seems to be a reasonable price but was wondering - what are the collective thoughts of this wonderful and knowledgeable group (obvious pandering :wink: about that particular instrument? How does it sound, both acoustically and plugged in? Can it hold it's own in a group when not amplified? What's the current value of one?

I've done the search thing here on the forum; also looked up the specs in Beesley's book, (no pictures), but there's nothing that says "yea" or nay" about it.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated. I have no experience with a bass, so my mind is a blank slate about them.

TIA,

Jeff

fronobulax

Bassist, GAD and the Hot Mess Mods
Reaction score
Guild Total
I have seen prices all over the map. I'd consider anything under $500 w/HSC a bargain. I paid ~$700 for mine (still listed here). I was willing to pay a higher price because it was an in-person transaction with about an hour of playing time before the sale and short scale Guild acoustic basses were is short supply at the time. It was the only one I found after 3 months of pining for one.

The general opinion is that the Guild B-50 is the acoustic bass to beat. Grot and Smithfield Fair have both posted their informed opinions. I think I also participated in a couple of comparison threads, although I'm too lazy to search for them.