I am a couch professional

guitarjamman

Reaction score
And it is debilitating at times (afterthought of reading a forum on AGF). My personality can get the better of me and hold me back from playing in front of people. In college, I was in a band with a buddy and we worked through several songs in our dorm – came time to play at an open mic and I came down with a “blue flu”, couldn’t manage to get up there and play.

I have been playing in a new band (just me and another guy) and we got a good number of songs down pat. I play lead acoustic guitar so there is no real way for me to sit in the back and just relax with the groove. I guess I am looking for words of encouragement from you seasoned guys on how you initial got over the stage fright? I know that it is not a competition; I get uncomfortable when I see people who are playing and are nervous; kind of feel bad for them. I do not want this to be the case with me when we play out….

The only people I have played in front of would be my wife, jam buddy from school, this new guy, and the guy who walks into the acoustic room at GC and hears a bit before I notice him and stop playing.

Geo

Reaction score
Get a lightly clad, good looking female vocalist and nobody will pay any attention to you. :lol:

George

walrus

Reverential Member
Gold Supporting
Reaction score
You sound like me! I finally broke the "spell" about 10 years ago, playing guitar in a small jazz/R&B band at the school where I teach. I played rhythm and a few solos, very very nervous, but being with other people helped a lot. I am now much more comfortable (still doing it), but admittedly still a little nervous.

The bigger step for me was playing at an open mic a few years ago - I thought I was going to pass out!! Adding the addition of singing really spooked me. But again, over time, I got over it. The last time I did it, I was still very nervous, but able to overcome it easily - a big step forward for me.