What strings do you prefer.

cpeehler7

Reaction score
Hey again everyone. So I'm in the market for some new strings, I broke both high E strings on my JF30-12 in the last 3 days, so it must be time to replace them haha. I decided to buy Elixer 80/20 Nanoweb since they're supposed to last longer, they sounded great, but I broke both E strings... I had whatever set that came with the guitar for 6 months with no issues. I'm sort of thinking of trying a cheaper set of strings too, I'm a college student and dropping $25 on a change of strings is a bit steep. Just wondering what strings you like, since so many of you guys have Guild 12 strings I figured this would be the right place to ask!

Also I did change from standard tuning to DADGAD when I broke the 2nd string, which would have had something to do with it. They both broke right under my capo on the 2nd fret too which is strange, never happened to me before. Maybe I had the capo in a wear position or something. Well I look forward to your suggestions, thanks in advance.

Christian.

geoguy

Reaction score
I use D'Addario EXP38, coated light-gauge phosphor bronze sets on my Guild 12-strings.

Don't normally change tunings on them, & I may have a light touch, but I change them something like once per year & have yet to break a string.

They won't be inexpensive to purchase ($15.83 per set at juststrings dot com), but hopefully they'll last longer than what you just tried!

For now, maybe you could just purchase a couple of replacement high E strings?

Taylor Martin Guild

Reaction score
Yes, just replace the 2 broken strings, They are not coated.
I use Elixir strings on my 12 string but not on my 6 string guitars.
I tried using non coated strings on the 12 string but they would go dead just sitting on the guitar.
I figured that Elixirs are cheaper in the long run because of their longevity.

cpeehler7

Reaction score