GAD serial numbers and manufacture dates

Reaction score
OK, so I'm new to Guilds. I just purchased a used GAD50 which is a wonderful instrument.
Thought I'd contact Guild/Fender and see when the guitar was built.
What I got was a condescending (flavored) email from a Customer Service rep. informing me that my serial number doesn't correspond with their records. Which is not unusual since the guitar was made in China. And they have no replacement parts lists for these guitars.
WHAT!
So, is there ANY source for determining manufacture dates for the GAD line of Guild guitars?

Help would be appreciated.

chazmo

Super Moderator
Gold Supporting
Reaction score
Yes, there is. One of our members posted this (http://letstalkguild.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=340324#p340324), although I'm not sure if anyone confirmed it:

Here is what I found out about dating GAD series guitars

Dating GUILD GAD Instruments

Guild introduced the GAD instruments in January of 2004. The GAD serial numbers begin with GAD- followed by 5 digits. There are not separate prefixes for each model of guitar, and the serial numbers alone do not provide specific dating information for the instruments.

All GAD instruments are stamped with a 10 digit internal manufacturing number located in the soundhole, at the base of the heel block. This number embodies production information about the instrument. As an example, we’ll use a random number 1104330026.
The first two digits of this number identify the production year. In this case, 11 would stand for 2011.
The second two digits identify the production month. In this case, 04 would stand for April.
The next two digits, 33, are of no significance and are an internal number used by the vendor to identify their order number.
The last four digits identify the unit number of the order. In this case, 26 would stand for the 26th instrument made to the 33rd order.

chazmo

Super Moderator
Gold Supporting
Reaction score