Is this a solid spruce top or a laminate/spruce

AoxoA

Reaction score
Hi, I think this might be a laminate with spruce veneer but it does appear to have some grain-like lines going down the soundhole. I am new to guitars. Hopefully some experienced members here can weigh in. Thanks.

25zrmz8.jpg

33vp8o9.jpg

et9obr.jpg

axikw1.jpg

GardMan

Enlightened Member
Reaction score
Guild Total
I don't see any obvious signs that it is a laminate (at least not super obvious layering). What guitar is it? I don't know of any Guild acoustics with laminated tops (AFAIK, even the MIC models were solid tops).

Chris is correct... their were acoustic archtops with laminated tops... but not flat tops, TMK.

Last edited:

AcornHouse

Venerated Member
Reaction score
Guild Total
Solid. You can see the grain lines running down the top continuing into the soundhole. AFAIK, there are no Guild flattops with a laminated top, US or import. Archtop s, yes; flattops, no.

kakerlak

Reaction score
I'm going to be the lone dissenter here and say that this looks like a laminated top to me. I'm assuming, if so, this is not a Guild guitar we're looking at. I say that b/c you can see pretty clear grain lines on both the top and bottom of the cross-section that stop right around the end of the round-over and the whole middle appears a completely different grain structure to my eyes. I particular, the 3rd photo seems to show some grain running tangent to the cut in a spot that would make the center laminate perpendicular to the others, grain-wise, which is as expected -- it also doesn't really look like spruce to me.

Westerly Wood

Venerated Member
Reaction score
Guild Total
i agree, i think this is a lammie. and not a guild as far as i can tell. welcome to the LTg!

AcornHouse

Venerated Member
Reaction score
Guild Total