The Heritage guitars ?

tjmangum

Reaction score
Heritage makes better Gibson electrics than Gibson. Many original employees and equipment from when they left for Nashville. It's a great story about how they are still making great guitars in Kalamazoo. They just celebrated their 30th anniversery. Boy, the news was slow getting to your neck of the woods!
I have an early H140, BTW, which is a Les Paul style model. Many jazz players swear by their hollow bodies.
Well worth tracking one down.
T

Quantum Strummer

Reaction score
Heritage inhabits part of the old Gibson factory in Kalamazoo, MI. I imagine most of the ex-Gibson folks are retired by now, though. I own a 1988 Eagle, their base model (at the time) archtop. It's a fine & dandy guitar!

-Dave-

JohnW63

Enlightened Member
Reaction score
Guild Total
I've been an acoustic guys most of my life. I only started learning about semi-hollow and hollow bodies when I found this forum. Looks like a Starfire would be a better bargain, based on my initial searches. Some of those Heritage guitars look really cool though !

The Anal Finn

Reaction score
Heritage was started by Marv Lamb, JP Moats and Jim Deurloo, who all made guitars for Gibson before Gibson abandoned Kalamazoo. All three are still with Heritage, and still making guitars in the same building and with the same equipment that Gibson left behind. It's a cool company that makes great guitars. They build custom, so tell them what you want, and they will build it.

chazmo

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Finn, Wasn't Jim Duerloo a prominent Guild person too? That name rings a bell! I think he's mention in Hans' OT.

hansmoust

Enlightened Member
Reaction score
Finn, Wasn't Jim Duerloo a prominent Guild person too? That name rings a bell! I think he's mention in Hans' OT.

Chazmo,

Not only is he mentioned in there, but there's a big photo of him standing next to Alfred Dronge on page 16 of 'The Guild Guitar Book'.