New 2512 ... Anyone?

Reaction score
Hi folks

Has anyone had a chance to try or even buy a new Westerly 2512 model?

So, I'm looking for a cheap Guild Jumbo, as a 'To-go-with' guitar, as far as two other Guilds are used almost always at home or in studio.

What about pros-cons of this guitar, the building quality, and etc.?

Thanks

fronobulax

Bassist, GAD and the Hot Mess Mods
Reaction score
Guild Total
Welcome. I have no experience with that model but maybe someone else does. (Think of this as an assisted bump to get your question noticed).

Reaction score
Definetely I can't go wrong with it. But I'm aware that it might be not very well built and that's just it. The sound on the video is marvelous.

evenkeel

Silver Supporting
Reaction score
I can't speak directly to a Westerly series, Chinese built F-2512, but I have owned both a Westerly, RI built 512 and a Chinese built 1512. Both of those guitars are spruce and rosewood, not spruce and maple a'la the 2512. The 512 and 1512 both had a big sound, lots of overtones and harmonics. Very aggressive, in your face guitars. Both well built, a bit heavy as Guilds often are. The 1512 was poly finished, while the 512 was lacquer. Tonal differences were not huge. The 512 just had a bit more of everything. Even more oomph, more volume, more overtones than the 1512 which was no slouch in those departments. Both guitars had a very crisp, chimey top end and a very big low end. The 512 in particular had a big bass response.

If it's build quality you are concerned about, unless you are expecting boutique, luthier quality, I don't think you'll be upset with a Westerly series Guild. Yes there will be some tonal differences between a Westerly Series and US built Guild. But likely no more than potential tonal variations between the various US Guild factories.

Reaction score