learning to play again!

kbob2

Reaction score
I have had guild D-55's and martin HD28 in the past and gave up on playing. I sold all of my guitars 3 yrs. ago but now back into trying to learn to play. I have a new guild D40 traditional and have a D-55 coming in January and a HD28 in march coming. So after this post I know I will hear what a dumb butt I am but at 70 yrs. old and sitting around board is my on ly excuse to give it another try. I am going to start lessons all over and I am a beginner and while waiting to call my instructor I am practicing from a book of chords to play all kinds of chords. I am having lots of trouble fingering some chords that require fingers all up and down the fretboard. My fingers are short and also my hands are not real felexable right now. Simply put I get sad when practicing chords and already getting discouraged and saying I can't do this. MY simple question is after practicing time after time and willing to put my time in to learn will my fingers and hands wrapping around neck eventually improve? I surely can find hope that after practicing different positions that maybe eventually my hands will adjust and stretch? I know there will be many chords that possible may never be able to play but they 're probably chords that one doesn't play or use a lot anyway! I don't know but what say you guys!

chazmo

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Been a long time since I learned to play, Bob, but I seem to recall that it felt awkward for a while. . . until it didn't. :)

I take it that you're saying that you were just starting to learn when you gave up last time. I mean, otherwise you're not really starting from ground zero, are you? If you had some proficiency back then, I think you'll find that you haven't lost that.

In any case, best of luck with your guitar experience.

Stuball48

Gold Supporting
Reaction score
Kbob2: