Looking for info on D4 HR MAH

Reaction score
Looking for any info including year. Have checked different serial number sites and can't find anything that matches the serial number AD402547.

All I know is it's a archback D4 with a mahogany top. I'm also wondering if it's somewhat rare since I haven't been able to find any info on this particular model in the 3 months that I've owned it.

Just curious more than anything as I bought it for the great tone and easy playability.

TIA

38626942965_0961be4e11.jpg

25651838278_cac69643b4.jpg
39492557052_f7f3ac0f89.jpg
24654873477_079ebdb094.jpg

D30Man

Reaction score
Guild Total
It is a first for me. I have never seen a D4 with hog top.. Buuut I am a newb compared to a good number of cats on this forum. Just stand by as the cavalry is a coming soon. And welcome to what you will come to realize is a great forum!

adorshki

Reverential Member
Reaction score
It is a first for me. I have never seen a D4 with hog top.. Buuut I am a newb compared to a good number of cats on this forum. Just stand by as the cavalry is a coming soon. And welcome to what you will come to realize is a great forum!

Yep welcome aboard tgaume!!
I've seen 3 of 'em in all my time here (pics anyway), and that's assuming one of 'em wasn't shown twice if one of the buyers decided to sell it. Couldn't compare s/n's between 'em all.
But yes by far the vast majority of D4's were built with spruce top.
Here's the deal: the s/n chart on the Guild site only covers up to some point in '97 even though it says it goes to '99:
http://guildguitars.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/history_of_your_guild.pdf.
Your guitar fits comfortably in the upper end of the range shown for D4's there, as last s/n on record is AD401129.
It's easy to miss that they switched from an AD04 to an AD40 prefix during that period, it might have thrown you off.