Ampeg B-40 combo

Reaction score
Hi guys..

I'm new to Bass playing.. Starting taking class and all.. I know I'm late to the party at 44 but always wanted to play an instrument..

To the point of this thread.. One of my buddy sold me a used bass and amp that he bought from his old bass player.. I was able to find info on the Bass who's an entry level Yamaha, not fantastic I guess but will do for now.

The Amp is a 1973 Ampeg B-40.. The cab has 4 x 10" speakers in it.. Fully functional and sounds like a ton of brick is hitting the house evrytime I strike a chord..

I was unable to find much info on it.. Like who played with this kind of amp, is it valuable.. I'm planning on upgrading the bass when I get a bit better at it.. But definatly loves the Amp!!

If anyone can give me more info on it I would appreciate

Thanks

adorshki

Reverential Member
Reaction score
I see a first post, welcome, Specteur!
Before I forget, be aware your first few posts will take some time to appear because they're vetted by mods to ensure you're a real person and not some kind of automated spam generator.
(I'm the only one to successfully get past that one so far)
RE the Ampeg: all I can tell you is that they had a pretty legendary reputation back in the day and hopefully some of our amp connoisseurs will be along to add more background.

gilded

Reaction score
Hi Spec',

Welcome.

The B40 head was a fairly early Transistor design, at least for Ampeg. They are supposed to make 120 watts. You see them out there from time to time. People usually don't spend a whole lot to get one. $250?

The B-40 cabs are arguably the first 4x10 designed bass cab, but in a world where Ampeg SVT 8x10 cabs rule Back Lines every where, no one seems to notice.