DV 73 - how many were made?

highwayman

Reaction score
Hi everybody at LTG,

I am new to the LTG forum, based in Germany. I am glad to have found LTG and thank you all for making it such a valuable source of information! I am the proud owner of a Guild DV-73, a wonderful guitar. I have read many times on the internet that only about 50 were made. However, looking at the various internet listings on "Dating your Guild guitar", it seems that not even 40 were made, one in 1994, the rest in 1995 (mine has the number 21 in 1995). What is the correct total number of DV-73s made in Westerly? Thanks for clarifying!

chazmo

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Welcome aboard, highwayman!

DV-73 is a wonderful axe. No idea how many were made, but someone might know.

GardMan

Enlightened Member
Reaction score
Guild Total
Highwayman,
Welcome to LTG!

Guilds SN lists include 14 DV-73s in 1994 (AD730001-AD730014) and 38 in 1995 (AD730015-AD730052) for a total of 52. Guild SN lists are notoriously incomplete and often in error, so I usually quote "about 50" as the number of DV-73s made (I have one just 2 numbers from yours). Hans Moust may have a better idea on the precise number.

4-6 of the DV-73s are owned by members of LTG.

Enjoy your Guild!

Last edited:

D30Man

Reaction score
Guild Total
Welcome to LTG Highwayman!!! I have only seen the DV73 in pictures but man what a spectacular looking guitar.
I knew it was a rare one but I had no idea they made so few.

Bernie

Reaction score
The guitar looks very nice - I had a look at the other thread -
Congrats...
What wood was used for the back and sides ?

GardMan

Enlightened Member
Reaction score
Guild Total
Interesting tidbit Dave, I would think that # would be higher.