1966 Starfire XII Wiring and Finish Questions

Gorgar

Reaction score
I've noticed with this guitar, unlike all my other Guilds, that with both pickups selected and the volumes on full, there's not much volume. Seems like maybe the two pickups are cancelling each other out. Is that normal? What's the advantage? Is there some magic tone you can get out of this setup? I have played around with volumes and tones, but so far the mystery eludes me. The only thing I can think of is maybe leaving everything on full, using that as a softer rhythm sound, and having two different louder lead tones available by switching to just one pickup.

Also, mine has a somewhat odd finish on it. It looks old, if not original, but I'm no expert and can't really tell. It looks like the label calls it a Starfire XII SB. It's kind of bursted on the left side but on the right, the black outline isn't really there. On the back it looks a lot more like a normal sunburst. I kind of like the look of it, but I'm curious if this looks to the more educated eye like an old amateur refinishing job, a factory second, or some other explanation.

The guitar in question:
QhsLkoJ.jpg

IB2c3UJ.jpg

Nuuska

Enlightened Member
Reaction score
Guild Total
Hello

Very nice guitar - perhaps one pickup is rewired out-of-phase.

Check this - put the selector switch in "both" position. Start with both volumes and tones full. Then turn one volume down a bit - does the sound get fuller? Repeat with the other volume. If "yes" - then it most certainly is wrong wiring. Easy remedy : just pull one pickup out and reverse the leads.

kakerlak

Reaction score
The top has been refinished.

I'm not convinced it's a refin -- I think it might just be heavily faded, which would better explain the uneven shading around the edge. Remember that transparent black Guilds of the era can fade all the way out to a kind of dirty orange color. I don't see any reason the same couldn't happen to the pigments on other finishes.

Gorgar