Got my new Lutehole feedback suppressor but...

bdeclee

Reaction score
My husband is worried about the neoprene foam gasket on my new Lutehole that comes into contact with the nitro finish on my F65-CE. Can anyone weigh in on this?

GuildFS4612CE

Reaction score
I'm not an expert, Barb, but I've used Neotech neoprene straps for 25 years and they've stayed on the guitars, been folded up in the cases with them, etc., and I've never had a problem...you could contact the maker with your concerns and see what comes back.

adorshki

Reverential Member
Reaction score
My husband is worried about the neoprene foam gasket on my new Lutehole that comes into contact with the nitro finish on my F65-CE. Can anyone weigh in on this?

For the short period of time that it's in contact during performing, should be ok.
I wouldn't leave it in there long term (more than a couple of days) at a time, though.
The solvents which made the NCL liquid enough to spray and air-dry continue to evaporate from the NCL as it ages, and also attack neoprene and break it down to a gummy mess.
It's called "outgassing" and in the case of an F65ce being at last 17 years old by now, the concentrations are much reduced and the danger is probably pretty low now.
Still, prolonged contact is probably best avoided.

bdeclee

Reaction score
For the short period of time that it's in contact during performing, should be ok.
I wouldn't leave it in there long term (more than a couple of days) at a time, though.
The solvents which made the NCL liquid enough to spray and air-dry continue to evaporate from the NCL as it ages, and also attack neoprene and break it down to a gummy mess.
It's called "outgassing" and in the case of an F65ce being at last 17 years old by now, the concentrations are much reduced and the danger is probably pretty low now.
Still, prolonged contact is probably best avoided.