NGD, N.S. A150 Savoy

Synchro

Reaction score
I received my second Newark St. Guild two days ago, a natural finish A150 Savoy. First, a bit of history:

I have loved arch tops since I started playing in 1966. My first guitar was a Harmony Master, a 16" archtop, and I've owned a number of arch tops since. The high points were a Gibson Johnny Smith model, a Heritage Eagle and a Gretsch Country Club (which is a solid topped 17" arch top but still has cut-in pickups and a Bigsby).

The Johnny Smith was purchased new, back in the '70s and was a source of much disappointment. I never got the sound that I liked and it had recurring problems with the top. A dealer convinced Gibson (back in the Kalamazoo days) to replace the top, but the guitar I got back was not at all good sounding and I had enough of this instrument, which had developed problems almost immediately after I purchased it. The first Gibson authorized repairman that looked at it said that the wood was not properly aged or dried and I believe him.

The Heritage was the opposite, beautiful sounding and played well, but it did not age well and became a bit crotchety. I sold it some time ago, with a somewhat broken heart. Before it "got sick" it was an amazing guitar, a true rhythm cannon that I played acoustically. The OEM Heritage pickup was basically a joke. The output was puny and muddy at the same time. Because I didn't use it on stage I ended up swapping on the acoustic pick guard and kept it as a pure acoustic. I used round wound strings and actually used to for a Country recording in place of a flattop.