Late 90's X-170 with Seth Lovers...

guildman63

Reaction score
On Saturday I got this back from having Seth Lovers installed, and I couldn't be happier. I had a chance to use it tonight with my group, and the clarity of these pups was incredible! I did not dislike the original SD-1's, but these Seth Lovers are perfect for this guitar. And as you can see the original rings remain. My tech made adaptors out of brass and drilled three holes in each. The bass side of each pickup was anchored to the center hole, and then the outer holes were compatible with the original two screws for each pickup.

Please pardon the photos. I took these pictures at night in my living room, which had limited lighting. I used my wife's new photo editing software (Affinity) to adjust various levels and colors, and I am still learning how to use that software.

Guildadelphia

Reaction score
Glad to hear you like the Seths. Have a set in my Edwards LP and I love them. Your're the second person I'm aware of on the LTG who put a pair in an X-170 this year and likes them. An excellent upgrade from the stock Fender 'buckers.

Last edited:

Quantum Strummer

Reaction score
Yeah, good choice. I like the Lovers…they have good midrange punch for folks accustomed to that from HBs, while the lack of potting and relatively low wind give the treble some welcome air. Enjoy 'em!

-Dave-

DThomasC

Reaction score
And, if you're putting them in a Guild with three height adjustment screws, try tilting them a little so the pole screws are closer to the strings. If you play around with it you can dial in more single coil clarity at the expense of HB meat. Of course that's true of any HB, even HB-1's, but I think the Seth Lovers work especially well tilted slightly.

rg2002

Reaction score